Killer whale diet

What a whale eats.

Killer whale lives in all oceans, from polar ice caps to the equator, where large victims such as tuna, salmon and seals are abundant. Other sources of food (diet) are squid, sea lions, penguins, whales and guinea pigs. In the North Pacific, several populations live along the coast of Alaska, in the inland waterways of British Columbia and Washington, as well as off the coast of Baja California. In the North Atlantic, they can be found from the waters from Newfoundland and Labrador to Iceland, Norway and the British Isles. In the southern hemisphere, killer whales can be seen off the coast of Argentina, South Africa, New Zealand and the Galapagos Islands.

The diet consists mainly of fish and sometimes of cephalopods. Killer whales are at the top of the food chain and have a very diverse diet, eating fish, penguins and marine mammals such as seals, sea lions and even whales, using teeth up to four inches long. It is known that seals are enough directly from the ice. They also eat fish, squid and seabirds.

Published by Eric


One thought on “Killer whale diet

Leave a Reply